Russia Allows Belarusians To Transit, Entry Ban Remains In Effect

Belarusians returning home from third countries are allowed to transit Russia, according to the Russian government’s resolution of 20 March.

Belarusians who do not have a Russian residence permit still cannot enter the country.

blarus russia border covid coronavirus

“The provisions of paragraph 1 of this regulation shall not apply to citizens of the CIS member states, the Republic of Abkhazia and the Republic of South Ossetia arriving in the Russian Federation through air checkpoints and departing to their native states through air checkpoints and other checkpoints when traveling to their state of citizenship other means of transport,” the document reads.

The CIS members include the Azerbaijan Republic, the Republic of Armenia, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, the Republic of Uzbekistan. Ukraine is an observer, Turkmenistan is an associate member.

Recall that on 16 March 2020, Russia banned the entry of all foreign citizens, including Belarusians and CIS citizens, from 18 March till 1 May in view of the coronavirus outbreak. Belarus President Alexander Lukashenko criticized the decision.

Moscow blamed Minsk for non-compliance with the WHO recommendations on fighting coronavirus. The WHO later refuted the statement, stressing that the measures taken by Belarus are consistent with its recommendations.