“Not A Single Euro To Lukashenko’s Government.” EU Announces New Belarus Sanctions

EU foreign ministers agreed on Thursday to prepare a new package of sanctions on individuals and entities in Belarus, in response to state repression of peaceful protests. This, as reported by TASS, said the head of EU diplomacy Josep Borrell at a press conference following an online meeting of 27 foreign ministers.

“Today we agreed to push ahead with a new round of sanctions on Belarus in response in response to state repression  ioland in order to support the Belarusian people. These sanctions will be introduced not only against individuals, but also against [government] structures, companies and entrepreneurs,” said Borrel.

Photo: Reuters

Borrell said the EU was reviewing all its financial assistance to Belarus and none of its aid would be channelled through the government of Lukashenko, who Brussels no longer recognises as the legitimate president. He noted that all funds for the country will go through NGOs to civil society.

As Reuters reports, citing two European diplomats, a new set of restrictive measures will be prepared in the next few weeks. They will target, among other things, the entities that, according to sources, finance Lukashenko and his government. It is not specified what companies are in question.

Recall that the first package of sanctions was adopted on 2 October. The EU imposed travel bans and asset freezes  on 40 Belarusian officials – security leadership [representatives of the Ministry of Internal Affairs and the KGB] and members of the CEC. Then Alexander Lukashenko was not included in a sanctions list, “since this would undermine the demand of Brussels to start a dialogue with the opposition through the mediation of the OSCE.”

The second package of sanctions was adopted on 6 November. The EU imposed sanctions on Lukashenko and 14 high-ranking officials. The list includes presidential aide Viktor Lukashenko, head of the presidential administration Igor Sergeenko, head of the KGB Ivan Tertel, head of the Investigative Committee Ivan Noskevich, Head of the Operational Analytical Center Andrei Pavlyuchenko, Lukashenko’s press secretary Natalya Eismont and others.