EU Approves Third Package Of Sanctions Against Belarusian Authorities

The representatives of the European Union have approved the third package of sanctions against the Belarusian authorities, according to several sources.

Radio Free Europe / Radio Liberty journalist Rikard Jozwiak said on Twitter that the EU representatives today agreed on a third in a row package of sanctions against the Belarusian authorities, which also includes companies.

The sanctions should take effect from the moment the decision is published in the official journal of the European Union. Information about the coordination of the third package of sanctions against the Belarusian authorities was also confirmed by the sources of the TASS news agency.

Recall that on 2 October, the EU adopted the first sanctions package against Belarus. It imposed travel bans and assets freezing on 40 top officials – security leadership [the Ministry of Internal Affairs and the KGB], and members of the CEC. Then Alexander Lukashenko was not included in the sanctions list, “since this would undermine the demand of Brussels to engage in a dialogue with the opposition through the mediation of the OSCE”.

The second package was adopted on 6 November. The EU imposed sanctions on Lukashenko and 14 high-ranking officials. The list includes National Security Adviser Viktor Lukashenko, Head of the Presidential Administration of Belarus Igor Sergeenko, Chairman of the KGB Ivan Tertel, Chairman of the Investigative Committee Ivan Noskevich, Head of the Operational Analytical Center Andrei Pavlyuchenko, Lukashenko’s press secretary Natalya Eismont and others.