Dutch Embassy Office Opens In Minsk On 10 July

The Office of the Embassy of the Netherlands officially opened in Minsk on 10 July, TUT.BY reports with a reference to Belarus MFA.

The ceremony was attended by the Belarusian Minister of Foreign Affairs Vladimir Makei and Secretary-General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands Johanna Brandt.

Photo: press service of Belarus MFA

“The opening of the Embassy of the Netherlands in the Belarusian capital is a clear confirmation of the desire of our states to develop full-scale relations, expand and deepen cooperation in all areas,” the Belarusian Foreign Minister stressed.

He added that the Netherlands are in the Top 10 most important trade, economic and investment partners of Belarus.

Johanna Brandt called this a landmark day, considering the 25th anniversary of establishment of diplomatic relations between the two countries.

Photo: press service of Belarus MFA

The Netherlands also appreciates cooperation in culture and sport with Belarus, the diplomat noted.

Secretary-General did not name any term when the Dutch Ambassador may  appear in Belarus.  At present this position is held by the ambassador in Poland.

“We have a Charge d’Affairs here,” she said. “Today we have made an important first step. Let’s celebrate the opening now and see how things develop next”.

For now, there will be two diplomats working in the Dutch Embassy Office: Charge d’Affairs and his aid. They will “monitor the development of the situation in Belarus, and maintain contacts with the government, civil society and business circles”, the Ambassador in Poland told TUT.BY.

As before, all consular functions, including issuing visas, will be provided by the German Embassy.

The Office of the Dutch Embassy is located at 70 Myasnikova str. in one building with the information center of the U.S. Embassy and the representative office of the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development.

In February 2016 Austria opened its embassy in Minsk. In December 2016 Belarus inaugurated embassies in Georgia and Spain.